About Jess

About Jess

Koh Phi Phi
At the Koh Phi Phi viewpoint in Thailand.

Hi! My name is Jess, and I am a Chinese American who left my beloved hometown of San Diego, California to travel the world. Although I took my first international trip as an infant, it was not until my 7.5 month solo trip to Southeast Asia in 2009 that I truly fell in love with traveling, particularly the budget type. On that trip, I met some of the kindest, most generous people, discovered the Couchsurfing network, hitchhiked for the first time, learned how to ride a motorbike, got scuba-certified, and ate some of the best food in the world.

After I returned home, the travel bug never went away.

Machu Picchu
Enjoying the view at Machu Picchu

However, my life plan at the time was to go to law school and become a lawyer. I toiled through my first semester at law school and then spent almost 9 months interning at a law firm in Beijing. Living in China was an eye-opening experience, one that I have slightly mixed feelings about but will always be forever grateful for the opportunity. I climbed the Great Wall, stayed in a yurt in Inner Mongolia, and relaxed on the beaches of Hainan. But, I eventually realized that being a lawyer was not for me.

And I dropped out of law school.

I still tried to fit into that nine to five mold though. Get that desk job. Save to buy a house. Find somebody to marry. Have kids.

IMG_0938
Getting photobombed in the Sahara desert of Morocco.

Finally, after three years in the corporate world, I decided that that lifestyle is just not for me. And I don’t need to rush to get married. It’ll happen when it happens. And if it doesn’t? I’ll be perfectly fine. I turned 30 in July 2016, and if I don’t pursue what I really want – which is a life that is location independent, a life free from the cubicle, a life where I can travel and work simultaneously – when will I ever do it?

What better time than now.

So I’m packing my bag, going to Croatia for a month and a half, then Germany for ten days. After that, I will be loosely-based and living in Morocco with no set return date to the United States.